SHPE Foundation

SHPE/GEM Fellowship

Andrea Rocha (2008 Recipient)

The SHPE Foundation and The National GEM Consortium have established a competitive, graduate fellowship for outstanding, active SHPE members, who are current full-time graduate students pursuing a technical and advanced degree in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics at a GEM Member University.

The recipient is selected from the pool of GEM Fellowship applicants. Applicants must submit their full GEM Fellowship application one year prior to the SHPE Conference. (I.e. fall 2010 recepients must submit their application by fall 2009).

Recipients will receive $10,000 plus tution and fees if they are in a qualified masters program at a GEM Member University OR $14,000 plus tution and fees if they are in a qualified doctoral program at a GEM Member University. (Refer to the GEM Web site for acurrent listing of Member Institutions).

GEM Award

The recipient is recognized at the Gala Banquet during the annual SHPE Conference and is provided

with two (2) complementary conference registrations, which includes four (4) hotel nights and one (1) Gala guest ticket.


  • Must be an active SHPE member
  • Must be enrolled full-time at an accredited graduate program in the United States or Puerto Rico at a GEM University
  • Must be pursuing a masters or doctoral degree in science, technology, engineering or math (MBA or profesional certificate programs DO NOT qualify)
  • Must meet any other requirements as set forth in the GEM application


Must submit a complete GEM Fellowship application by the fall deadline and meet additional GEM Fellowship application requirements (Visit for full details)


Questions should be addressed via email to or by phone to (817) 272-1116.  To learn more about The National GEM Consortium, visit the Web site at or call the GEM office at (202) 457-8672.


2008 Andrea Rocha
Doctoral Student, Civil Engineering, University of Florida

2007 Dayna-Lee Martinez-Torres
Doctoral Student, Industrial & Management Systems Engineering, University of South Florida

2007 Cristina Dos Santos
Masters Student, Civil Engineering, University of Central Florida

Oscar Murillo
Doctoral Student, Aerospace Engineering, Iowa State University